Skip to main content

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill maintains an open approach to all individuals and countries willing and able to collaborate within the confines of U.S. federal sanctions and embargoes. The U.S. federal government maintains what are known as “comprehensive sanctions” that have the effect of prohibiting U.S. persons from participating in most transactions, collaborations, and activities with certain countries and regions. With few exceptions, the U.S. will bar most transactions, collaborations, or activities involving a comprehensively sanctioned country/region or individuals and entities therefrom. The following list of countries and regions are those that currently have comprehensive sanctions/embargoes placed against them:

It should be noted that although these specific countries/regions are the only ones that currently have comprehensive sanctions placed upon them, the list can grow or shrink based on actions taken by the U.S. federal government. If you plan on having any interaction with a comprehensively sanctioned country/region, please contact the Export Compliance Office.

Additionally, the U.S. federal government can impose targeted sanctions and restrictions on certain countries, entities, and individuals. These restrictions are routinely identified by the Export Compliance Office through restricted party screening (RPS). Please refer to our webpage on Restricted Parties and Visual Compliance for further information.