Skip to main content

Carolina faculty members who have been elected members of the National Academy of Sciences:

Maurice Brookhart, PhD (elected 2001)

William Rand Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor, Chemistry

Frederick Brooks Jr., PhD (elected 2001)

Kenan Professor, Computer Science

Jeffrey L. Dangl, PhD (elected 2007)

John N. Couch Distinguished Professor, Biology; Adjunct Professor, Microbiology and Immunology

Joseph M. DeSimone, PhD (elected 2012)

Chancellor’s Eminent Professor of Chemistry, department of chemistry

Jack D. Griffith, PhD (elected 2018)

Kenan Distinguished Professor, Microbiology and Immunology

Kathleen Harris, PhD (elected 2014)

James Haar Professor, Sociology

Clyde A. Hutchison III, PhD (elected 1995)

Kenan Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Microbiology and Immunology (retired)

J. Ross MacDonald, PhD (elected 1973)

William R. Kenan Jr. Professor Emeritus, Physics and Astronomy (retired)

Thomas J. Meyer, PhD (elected 1994)

Arey Distinguished Professor, Chemistry

Royce Murray, PhD (elected 1991)

Kenan Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Chemistry (retired)

Aziz Sancar, PhD, MD (elected 2005)

Sarah Graham Kenan Distinguished Professor, Biochemistry and Biophysics

Richard V. Wolfenden, PhD (elected 2002)

Alumni Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry and Biophysics