Skip to main content

The Office of Research Communications conveys the value of research conducted at Carolina to the university community, the citizens of North Carolina, and interested and invested parties across the nation and world. The office provides communication services to the Office of Vice Chancellor for Research (OVCR) and its administrative units, supports the communication efforts of the OVCR’s centers and institutes, maintains resources for the Carolina research community on the UNC Research website, and publishes the award-winning Endeavors research magazine.


Staff


Portrait of Layla Dowdy

Layla Dowdy

Director

  • Leads ORC in the creation of content that promotes the value and impact of research at UNC
  • Develops communication strategies for the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research

(919) 962-7765
lhdowdy@email.unc.edu


Portrait of Darren Abrecht

Darren Abrecht

Webmaster

  • WordPress administration for the UNC Research and Endeavors websites
  • Web production support
  • Online content strategy support

(919) 962-6137
darren@unc.edu


Portrait of Carleigh Gabryel

Carleigh Gabryel

Strategic Communications Manager

  • Content management and creation for the Inside Research and Carolina Investigator newsletters
  • Writing, editing and communications support for OVCR directors and research staff

(919) 445-0488
cgabryel@unc.edu


Portrait of Alyssa LaFaro

Alyssa LaFaro

Content Manager

  • Senior editor, writer, videographer, and photographer for Endeavors
  • Social media content producer and strategist

(919) 962-6136
amlafaro@email.unc.edu


Portrait of Corina Prassos

Corina Prassos

Graphic Designer

  • Designs print and digital collateral for UNC Research and Endeavors
  • Web designer for Endeavors website

(919) 962-6023
ccudebec@email.unc.edu


Portrait of Andrew Russell

Andrew Russell

Photographer/Videographer

  • Photographer, videographer and writer for UNC Research and Endeavors websites
  • Social media content producer

(919) 962-7765
russkell@unc.edu


Portrait of John Gove

John Gove

Multimedia Intern


Portrait of Renata Schmidt

Renata Schmidt

Multimedia Intern


Centers and Institutes Communicators


The Office of Research Communications works with a number of communicators embedded directly in their respective OVCR centers and institutes:

Melody Kramer

Director of Communications
Carolina Population Center & Carolina Demography

mjkramer@email.unc.edu

Kelly Weaver

Director of External Affairs & Communications
Center for Galapagos Studies

(919) 445-0763
weaverk@email.unc.edu

Beverly Garcia

Managing Director
Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention

(919) 966-6088
beverly_garcia@unc.edu

Anna Schwab

Program Manager
Coastal Resilience Center

(919) 962-0344
akschwab@email.unc.edu

Katherine Neer

Director of Communications & Marketing
Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute

katherine.neer@unc.edu

Caroline Mozingo

Communications & Outreach Manager
Highway Safety Research Center

(919) 962-5835
mozingo@hsrc.unc.edu

Erin Hopper

Director for Programs & Grants
Institute for Convergent Science

(919) 966-3929
hoppere@email.unc.edu

Emily Williams

Director of Communications
Institute for the Environment

(919) 962-0965
emilywilliams@unc.edu

Sarah Ann Fitzgerald

Public Comm Specialist
North Carolina Collaboratory

(919) 962-9355
safitz@email.unc.edu

Suzanne Dane

Director of Communications
Nutrition Research Institute

suzanne_dane@unc.edu

Jill Stevens

Program Specialist
Odum Institute

jill_stevens@unc.edu

Stephanie Suber

Director of Communications & Outreach
Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI)

(919) 445-9640
subers@renci.org

Lindsay McCall

Program Coordinator
Sheps Center for Health Services Research

(919) 966-8628
lmccall@email.unc.edu


Contact Us


Office of Research Communications

123 West Franklin St., Ste. 600B
Carolina Square – CB #4106
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-4106

Endeavors

(919) 962-0130
endeavors@unc.edu