Skip to main content

OSP Business Units


Cost Analysis & Compliance
Operations
Research Administration
Sponsored Projects Accounting

Cost Analysis

This unit conducts all costing studies for the institution, including research expenditures and facility utilization for the preparation and negotiation of the Facilities and Administrative (F&A) cost rate proposal. They also review and approve all recharge center activities and oversees the Cost Accounting Disclosure Statement (DS-2) for the University. Other reporting and cost studies are completed on an ad-hoc basis. They are also the OSP point of contact for audits and conduct internal audits for research funding as well as pre-audit of expenditures for research activities.

This unit is responsible for the ecrt (Effort Certification Reporting Technology) oversight as well, which monitors payroll effort and reporting on research and other sponsored program activities.

  Cost Analysis and Compliance Management

Brian Bertlshofer Director bertlsbj@email.unc.edu (919) 843-4891

  Audit Team

Tracey Lemming Audit and Financial Compliance Manager tlemming@email.unc.edu (919) 962-2782
Sherrell Alston Post-Award Financial Analyst alstonsh@live.unc.edu (919) 962-7911
Michelle Edgell Post-Award Financial Analyst edgellm@email.unc.edu (919) 962-3630
Eichenberger, Mia Post-Award Financial Analyst meichen1@unc.edu (919) 966-1239
Anne Green Post-Award Financial Analyst annegree@email.unc.edu (919) 962-3247
Sydney Barbieri Pre-Audit Technician sdbarbie@live.unc.edu (919) 962-6497
Pre-Audit Approval Workflow Assignments for OSP RA Teams 5 and 6, Pediatrics*
Darryl Harris Pre-Audit Technician dharris@email.unc.edu (919) 962-4690
Pre-Audit Approval Workflow Assignments for OSP RA Teams 4 and 7, UNC Kidney Center, Department of Social Medicine*
Vacant Pre-Audit Technician
Pre-Audit Approval Workflow Assignments for OSP RA Teams 1, 2 and 3*

  Cost Accounting & Central Effort Administration

James (JR) Pike Cost Accounting and Central Effort Manager james_pike@unc.edu (919) 843-4825
D’Angelo Best Central Effort Analyst ddbest@email.unc.edu (919) 843-5074
Eartha Bridges-Riley Central Effort Analyst olivette@live.unc.edu (919) 962-7717
David Coyle Cost Analyst dacoyle@email.unc.edu (919) 962-4673
Valeshia Dobson Cost Analyst valeshia@email.unc.edu (919) 843-5368
Ryan O. Saunders Central Effort Analyst rsauns@email.unc.edu (919) 962-6513
Latoia Smith Lead Cost Accounting and Central Effort Analyst latoia@email.unc.edu (919) 962-6456

  Research Core Development and External Audit

Ben Wright Director bwright1@email.unc.edu (919) 962-6449

OSP Leadership

Andy Johns Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Andy_Johns@unc.edu (919) 962-8253
David Paul Assistant Vice Chancellor, Office of Sponsored Programs David.Paul@unc.edu (919) 843-7780