Skip to main content

November 7th, 2019 at the Carolina Student Union

Please click here to register for this event


7:45 – 9:00am

NASA Day Registration Open | Networking with Continental Breakfast

9:00 – 9:30am
Opening Remarks

Bob Blouin, Provost, UNC Chapel Hill (invited)

Todd Boyette, Director, UNC Morehead Planetarium

9:30 – 10:30am
Keynote Address

NASA Keynote

10:30 – 11:30am
NASA AA Moderated Panel with Q&A

Jim Reuter, AA for Space Technology Mission Directorate

Dennis Andrucyk, Deputy AA for Science Mission Directorate

Ken Bowersox (invited), AA (Acting) for Human Exploration Operations Mission Directorate

11:30 – 12:00pm
Break, and Boxed Lunch — return to auditorium

12:00 – 1:00pm
Advancing Biological Technologies in Space

Jim Broyan, Deputy Program Manager for NASA’ Environmental Control and Life Support Technology and Crew Health and Performance

Dr. John Hogan, Environmental Scientist, Bioengineering Branch at NASA Ames

Astronaut Zena Cardman

1:00 – 2:00pm
Opportunities to Work with NASA

Small Business Innovation Research and Space Business Technology Transfer Program (SBIR/STTR)
Gynelle Steele, Deputy Program Executive for SBIR/STTR

Space Tech Research Grants (STRG)
Dr. Harry Partridge, NASA Ames Center Chief Technologist

Research Opportunities in Earth and Space Science (ROSES)
Max Bernstein, Science Mission Directorate Lead for Research

2:00 – 2:30pm
Break and move to breakout sessions

2:30 – 4:30pm
Concurrent Breakout Sessions

Session #1: Technology Development Opportunities to Support & Enable NASA SMD (Science Mission Directorate) Programs

Session #2: How to get funding at NASA through Science Research Opportunities

Session #3: NASA’s Research on Artificial Intelligence

Session #4: NASA SBIR/STTR Program and NASA Space Tech Research Grants

Session #5: Advancing Biological Technologies in Space

Program Concludes

Please click here to register for this event

* All speakers are currently invited, but could be changed or replaced at short notice. Refer to this website for the the most current confirmed attendees.