PDA MISSION

The mission of the Postdoctoral Association (PDA) is to represent the concerns and interests of postdoctoral scholars here at UNC. PDA leaders work closely with the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs to assess the status of postdoctoral life.  They also provide leadership and support for the PDA and peer initiatives.

PDA LEADERSHIP TEAM

PDA Co-Chairs: 

Alexander H. Tuttle, alexander_tuttle@med.unc.edu

Ana T. Nogueira, Anogueira@unc.edu

Minority Postdoc Alliance Chair:

Ariana G. Bravo, abravo@email.unc.edu

PDA Social Events Chair:

Alan Marsh, alan_marsh@med.unc.edu

MPA Social Media Chair:

Ariana G. Bravo, abravo@email.unc.edu

PDA Outreach Chair:

Roberto Mota, roberto_mota@med.unc.edu

Webmaster:
Alexander Tuttle, alexander_tuttle@med.unc.edu

International Postdoc Co-Chairs: 

Helen Mao, hm69@email.unc.edu

Ana T. Nogueira, Anogueira@unc.edu

 

Campus Health Advisory Board Representative: 
Laura Raffield, laura_raffield@unc.edu

Carolina Women’s Center Representative: OPEN

 

Chancellor’s Childcare Advisory Committee Representative: 

Tessa-Jonne Ropp, tessa_jonne_ropp@med.unc.edu

 

Looking for a way to make a difference?

The UNC Postdoctoral Association is a volunteer organization dedicated to addressing the needs and concerns of all UNC postdocs.  In the past, PDA members have worked closely with the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs to provide resources for professional development, generate awareness about problems common to all postdocs, and to foster a sense of community among postdoctoral scholars.  In addition to organizing events and seminars to enrich the scientific experience of postdocs, PDA is also interested in promoting programs to encourage social interaction within the community.

We invite you to become an active part of the PDA and welcome your ideas and suggestions to improve the quality of the postdoctoral experience.  Furthermore, your participation will assist you in building your own leadership skills, in meeting other postdocs outside of your home department, networking and negotiating with others, and in serving the community, a critical experience for you to list on your CV and share with employers during interviews.

If you are interested in getting involved, please contact the leaders listed above or opa@unc.edu.

This is a volunteer-run organization: If there is a program or service you want, come help make it happen!

To visit the Postdoctoral Association page, click here.