Management Staff

Andy Johns Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Andy_Johns@unc.edu 919-962-8253
Vacant Executive Director, Office of Sponsored Research
Brian Bertlshofer Director, Cost Analysis and Compliance bertlsbj@email.unc.edu 919-843-4891
Lou Harrell Director, Financial Reporting & Cash Management louharre@email.unc.edu 919-962-8001
    Patrick Amihere Assistant Director, Financial Quality Control patrick_amihere@unc.edu 919-962-4691
    Jenifer Gwaltney Assistant Director, Sponsored Project Accounting j_gwaltney@unc.edu 919-843-1988
    Jim Kelly Assistant Director, Sponsored Project Accounting jpkelly@email.unc.edu 919-962-4694
Jeremy Dott Director, Operations jdott@unc.edu 919-962-5943
    Amanda Chang Assistant Director, Operations ahc@ad.unc.edu 919-962-8007
Jennifer Teixeira Director, Research Administration > jennifer.teixeira@unc.edu 919-962-8005
    Brian Collier Assistant Director, Research Administration bcollier@email.unc.edu 919-962-3113
    Vacant Assistant Director, Research Administration
    Vacant Assistant Director

Staff

Brian Bertlshofer Director, Cost Analysis and Compliance bertlsbj@email.unc.edu 919-843-4891

Cost Analysis (Recharge Centers and F&A)

Melissa Jones Cost Analyst melissa_jones@unc.edu 919-843-5368
Vacant Cost Analyst

Central Effort Administration

Vacant Central Effort Administrator
   Jon Cheslock Central Effort Coordinator jcheslock@unc.edu 919-962-4664
   Ryan O. Saunders Personnel Action Analyst rsauns@email.unc.edu 919-962-6513
   Aja Saylor Central Effort Coordinator ajasaylor@unc.edu 919-843-5074

Post-Award Audit

Ben Wright Audit and Subrecipient Monitoring Manager bwright1@email.unc.edu 919-962-6449
   Sherrell Alston Post Award Analyst alstonsh@live.unc.edu 919-962-7911
   Mahdi Altamimi Post Award Analyst altamimi@email.unc.edu 919-962-7617
   Sydney Barbieri Pre-Audit Technician sdbarbie@live.unc.edu 919-962-6497
   Shari Elliott Pre-Audit Technician sjelliot@email.unc.edu 919-843-0873
   Darryl Harris Pre-Audit Technician darryl_harris@unc.edu 919-962-4690
   Nicki Kahlon Post Award Analyst kahlon@live.unc.edu 919-962-7648
   Tracey Lemming Post-Award Financial Analyst tlemming@email.unc.edu 919-962-2782

Financial Reporting & Cash Management

Lou Harrell Director, Post Award & Cash Management louharre@email.unc.edu 919-962-8001
   Patrick Amihere Assistant Director, Financial Quality Control patrick_amihere@unc.edu 919-962-4691
   Jenifer Gwaltney Assistant Director, Sponsored Project Accounting j_gwaltney@unc.edu 919-843-1988
   Jim Kelly Assistant Director, Sponsored Project Accounting jpkelly@email.unc.edu 919-962-4694

Cash Management

Dawn DiLello Cash Manager dawn_dilello@unc.edu 919-962-4684
   Crystal Davis Sponsored Project Accountant — Cash Management crystald@email.unc.edu 919-962-1353
   Irene Deng Sponsored Project Accountant — AR Specialist ideng@email.unc.edu 919-962-3247
   Vacant Post Award Analyst
   Vacant Post Award Analyst

Data Management

Michele Shoffner Data Management Team Lead mshoffne@email.unc.edu 919-843-0048
   Lynn Espinosa Data Management lynnb@email.unc.edu 919-962-2196
   Ginger Smith Data Management ginger_smith@unc.edu 919-962-4668

Financial Reporting

Vacant Sponsored Project Accounting Manager
Kathy Coombs Interim Team Leader / Sponsored Project Accountant kcoombs@email.unc.edu 919-962-4669
   Bridget Foust Sponsored Project Accountant bfoust@email.unc.edu 919-843-0886
   Kevin Moye Sponsored Project Accountant kmoye@email.unc.edu 919-962-7655
   Tracy Oliver Sponsored Project Accountant manitoak@email.unc.edu 919-962-4672
   Tyler Overman Sponsored Project Accountant overmant@email.unc.edu 919-962-4246
Responsible for the following sponsors:

  • All NIH research grants, cooperative agreements, contracts, training, career development, fellowship and Fogarty
    grants; flow downs from NIH agreements
Bettina Lampkin Sponsored Project Accounting Manager blampkin@email.unc.edu 919-962-7651
   Brittney Andrews Sponsored Project Accountant bdandrew@live.unc.edu 919-962-7621
   Ellenie Asrat Sponsored Project Accountant asrat@email.unc.edu 919-962-4689
   Christopher Cirillo Sponsored Project Accountant ccirillo@live.unc.edu 919-962-7627
   Lisa Hufnagle Sponsored Project Accountant hufnagle@email.unc.edu 919-966-4662
   Julie Kadow Sponsored Project Accountant kadow@email.unc.edu 919-962-4692
   Clay Long Sponsored Project Accountant cdlong@email.unc.edu 919-962-7945
   Max Needell Sponsored Project Accountant mneedell@live.unc.edu 919-962-7942
   Jane Shaw Sponsored Project Accountant janesb@email.unc.edu 919-962-4681
   Rashia Wright Sponsored Project Accountant wrighta@live.unc.edu 919-962-7668
Responsible for the following sponsors:

  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
  • CDC
  • Maternal and Child Health
  • NASA
  • National Endowment for the Arts
  • National Endowment for the Humanities
  • NIH contracts
  • NOAA
  • SBIR/STTR
  • U.S. AID
  • U.S. DHHS Agencies
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • U.S. Department of Commerce
  • U.S. Department of Defense
  • U.S. Department of Education
  • U.S. Department of Energy
  • U.S. Department of State
  • U.S. Department of Transportation
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • U.S. Institute for Museum and Library Services
  • Other Federal Agencies and flow downs from the agencies listed above
Ryan Hermreck Sponsored Project Accounting Manager hermreck@email.unc.edu 919-962-4688
   Gina Collier Sponsored Project Accountant gcollier@email.unc.edu 919-962-3896
   Krystal Hunter Sponsored Project Accountant hunterkg@email.unc.edu 919-962-7646
   Daniel Stroupe Sponsored Project Accountant lstroupe@unc.edu 919-966-5625
   Kelly Wilburn Sponsored Project Accountant haask@email.unc.edu 919-966-5625
   Kourtney Williams Sponsored Project Accountant kwillia1@live.unc.edu 919-962-4666
   Vacant Sponsored Project Accountant
   Vacant Sponsored Project Accountant
Responsible for the following sponsors:

  • All Foundations and Non-Profit Organizations, Societies, Associations and flow downs from these agencies
  • Clinical Trials
  • Counties, Cities and States (not North Carolina)
  • For-Profit Corporations
  • North Carolina Government Agencies State, County, City and Local (This does not include the UNC General
    Administration or the 16 campuses)
  • UNC General Administration (Non Flow Down)
  • Universities (non flow down)

Operations Management

Jeremy Dott Director, Operations jdott@unc.edu 919-962-5943
Amanda Chang Assistant Director, Operations ahc@ad.unc.edu 919-962-8007

Administrative Staff

Morgan Turner Front Desk Coordinator (Contractor) turnermo@email.unc.edu 919-966-3411
Mary-Kathryn (KC) Zabrycki Front Desk Coordinator (Contractor) kcz@email.unc.edu 919-966-3412

Operations Staff

Katharine Barna Business Systems Analyst (Contractor) kbarna@email.unc.edu 919-843-7270
Antonio Heyliger Business Systems Analyst vanito@email.unc.edu 919-962-6502
Lauren Magnuson Financial Reporting Administrator lmagnuso@email.unc.edu 919-962-5619
Samantha Thompson Training and Communication Specialist sdthomp8@live.unc.edu 919-962-4680
Megan Tirpak Training and Communication Specialist mmtirpak@email.unc.edu 919-962-7661
John Traversaro Business Systems Analyst jtravers@email.unc.edu 919-843-2985
Tyler Yon Document Coordinator tyon@email.unc.edu N/A

Research Administration Management

Organizational Chart
Jennifer Teixeira Director, Research Administration jennifer.teixeira@unc.edu 919-962-8005
Brian Collier Assistant Director, Research Administration bcollier@email.unc.edu 919-962-3113
  Team Managers
      Lorrie Robbins, Research Administration Manager (Team 5)
      Karmen Bisher, Research Administration Manager (Team 6)
      Stacy Barca, Research Administration Manager (Team 7)
      Outgoing Subaward Team
Vacant Assistant Director, Research Administration
  Team Managers
      Lance Underwood, Research Administration Manager (Team 1 – VCR)
      Betty Morgan, Research Administration Manager (Team 2 – A&S)
      Kati Chipps, Research Administration Manager (Team 3 – PH)
      Jo Shanklin, Research Administration Manager (Team 4 – OR)
Vacant Assistant Director, Research Administration
Department Assignments By Team
Click here to download a complete list of all department assignments, including each department’s assigned Sponsored Projects Specialist.

Team 1 (VCR)

Lance Underwood Research Administration Manager link@email.unc.edu 919-962-5523
Jennifer Hodges Sponsored Projects Specialist jaelyn@email.unc.edu 919-962-3238
Cara Petitt Sponsored Projects Specialist carap@live.unc.edu 919-966-2542
Danielle Robinson Sponsored Projects Specialist danielle.robinson@unc.edu 919-962-8004
John Strayhorn Sponsored Projects Specialist jkstray@email.unc.edu 919-962-4687
Fatou Traore Sponsored Projects Specialist fatou@email.unc.edu 919-962-7255
Makeda Parker Contractor ayana90@live.unc.edu 919-962-5698
Vacant Sponsored Projects Specialist
Responsible for the following departments:

  • Carolina Population Center
  • Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research
  • Center for Developmental Science
  • Center for Galapagos Studies
  • Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention
  • Center for the Study of Natural Hazards and Disasters
  • Data Intensive Cyber Environments (DICE)
  • Division of Laboratory Animal Medicine
  • Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
  • Highway Safety Research Center
  • Injury Prevention Research Center
  • Institute of Marine Sciences
  • Nutrition Research Institute
  • Odum Institute for Research in Social Science
  • Office of Animal Care and Use
  • Office of Clinical Trials
  • Office of Federal Affairs
  • Office of Human Research Ethics
  • Office of Industry Contracting
  • Office of Postdoctoral Affairs
  • Office of Research Communications
  • Office of Research Development
  • Office of Research Information Systems
  • Office of Sponsored Research
  • Office of Technology Development
  • Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research
  • Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI)
  • UNC Institute for the Environment
  • Vice Chancellor for Communications and Public Affairs

Team 2 (A&S)

Betty Morgan Research Administration Manager Betty_Satterfield@unc.edu 919-962-3397
Stephanie Hendrix Sponsored Projects Specialist stephhen@email.unc.edu 919-962-8002
Thomas Lee Sponsored Projects Specialist tblee@email.unc.edu 919-445-2769
Steve McKee Sponsored Projects Specialist jsmckee@email.unc.edu 919-962-4683
Marcia Pederson Sponsored Projects Specialist mmarcia@live.unc.edu 919-962-4677
Jill Thomas Sponsored Projects Specialist jillt@email.unc.edu 919-962-5697
Responsible for the following departments:

  • Academic Advising Program
  • Aerospace Studies
  • African Studies Center
  • African, African American, and Diaspora Studies
  • American Studies
  • Anthropology
  • Applied Physical Sciences
  • Archaeology
  • Art
  • Arts and Sciences Business Center
  • Arts and Sciences Deans Office
  • Arts and Sciences Foundation
  • Asian Studies
  • Biology
  • Biomedical Engineering – Undergraduate
  • Carolina Asia Center
  • Carolina Center for Jewish Studies
  • Carolina Center for the Study of Middle East and Muslim Civilizations
  • Center for Community Capital
  • Center for European Studies
  • Center for Slavic Eurasian and East European Studies
  • Center for Student Success
  • Center for the Study of the American South
  • Center for Urban and Regional Studies
  • Chancellors Science Scholars
  • Chemistry
  • City and Regional Planning
  • Classics
  • Communication
  • Computer Science
  • Dramatic Art
  • Economics
  • English and Comparative Literature
  • Entrepreneurship Minor
  • Environment and Ecology
  • Exercise and Sport Science
  • FEDEX Global Education Center Building Operations
  • First Year Seminars
  • Geography
  • Geological Sciences
  • Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures
  • Global Studies
  • History
  • Honors Carolina
  • Humanities and Human Values
  • Institute for the Arts and Humanities
  • Institute for the Study of the Americas
  • Johnston Center for Undergraduate Excellence
  • Linguistics
  • Marine Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Military Science
  • Music
  • Naval Science (NROTC)
  • Office of Arts and Sciences Information Services
  • Office of Distinguished Scholarships
  • Peace War and Defense
  • Philosophy
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Playmakers Repertory Company
  • Political Science
  • Program for Medieval and Early Modern Studies
  • Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Public Policy
  • Religious Studies
  • Romance Studies
  • Sexuality Studies
  • Sociology
  • Statistics and Operations Research
  • Student Retention
  • Study Abroad
  • Summer Bridge
  • The Robertson Scholars Program
  • Undergraduate Curricula
  • Undergraduate Education
  • Undergraduate Research
  • Winston House
  • Womens and Gender Studies
  • Writing and Learning Center
  • Writing for Screen and Stage

Team 3 (PH)

Kati Chipps Research Administration Manager kati_chipps@unc.edu 919-962-4665
Ronda Farrell Sponsored Projects Specialist farrelrl@email.unc.edu 919-962-4396
Andrea Flor Sponsored Projects Specialist acflor@email.unc.edu 919-962-7926
Ronald Hobbs Sponsored Projects Specialist rlhobbs@email.unc.edu 919-962-2813
Alexie Mina Sponsored Projects Specialist amina93@live.unc.edu 919-962-6487
Responsible for the following departments:

  • Active Living by Design
  • Administrative Offices
  • Biostatistics & Biostastics Operations
  • Carolina Survey Research Laboratory
  • Center for Environmental Health and Susceptibility
  • Collaborative Studies Coordinating Center
  • Dean’s Office
  • Environmental Sciences and Engineering
  • Epidemiology and Epidemiology Operations
  • Health Behavior and Health Behavior Operations
  • Health Policy and Management (HPM) and HPM Operations
  • Maternal and Child Health (MCH) and MCH Operations
  • NC Institute for Public Health
  • Nutrition and Nutrition Operations
  • Public Health Leadership
  • Public Health Nursing
  • Research, Evaluation and Technical Assistance
  • SPH Health Care and Prevention

Team 4 (OR)

Jo Shanklin Research Administration Manager shanklin@unc.edu 919-962-4938
Amy Austin Sponsored Projects Specialist winnamy@email.unc.edu 919-962-8003
Rhonda Fuquay Sponsored Projects Specialist rhonda_fuquay@unc.edu 919-962-7763
Esther Thompson Sponsored Projects Specialist esther09@email.unc.edu 919-962-4246
Stephanie Skipp Contractor sskipp@email.unc.edu 919-962-4676
Vacant Sponsored Projects Specialist
Responsible for the following departments:

  • Academic Initiatives
  • Ackland Art Museum
  • American Indian Center
  • Athletics
  • Auxiliary Services
  • Campus Health
  • Campus Services
  • Carolina Counts
  • Carolina Higher Education Opportunity Programs
  • Center for Faculty Excellence
  • Center for Teaching and Learning
  • Chancellor’s Office & Associated Organizations
  • CHEOP Trio Programs Offices
  • Clinical Affairs
  • Development Offices
  • Energy Services
  • Facilities Services
  • Finance and Administration Offices
  • Frank Hawkins Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise
  • Graduate School
  • Health Sciences Library
  • Institute of African American Research
  • IT Services
  • Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Morehead Planetarium
  • NC Botanical Garden
  • Office of the Executive Director for the Arts
  • Office of Undergraduate Admissions
  • Oral and Craniofacial Health Sciences (aka School of Dentistry)
  • Provost’s Office & Associated Organizations
  • Scholarships and Student Aid
  • School of Education
  • School of Education Foundation
  • School of Government
  • School of Information and Library Science (SILS)
  • School of Law
  • School of Media and Journalism
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Social Work
  • Small Business Technology and Development Center – KFBS Regional Service Center
  • Student Affairs
  • Summer School
  • UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
  • UNC Global
  • University Career Services
  • University Library
  • William and Ida Friday Ctr – Cont Education
  • Workforce Strategic Equity Engagement
  • World View

Team 5

Lorrie Robbins Research Administration Manager lorrier@email.unc.edu
Carol Burkhart Sponsored Projects Specialist carol_burkhart@unc.edu 919-962-4098
Amy Grissom Sponsored Projects Specialist amy_grissom@unc.edu 919-843-6250
Marybeth Lavrakas Sponsored Projects Specialist lavrakas@unc.edu 919-962-7762
Randy Medlin Sponsored Projects Specialist randy_medlin@unc.edu 919-962-3115
Scott Young Sponsored Projects Specialist psyoung@email.unc.edu 919-962-9901
Responsible for the following departments:

  • Anesthesia and Anesthesiology
  • Biochemistry and Biophysics
  • Bowles Center for Alcohol Studies
  • Carolina Center for Genome Sciences
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Genetics
  • Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Medicine (Depts 4114XX and 4201XX)
  • Ophthalmology
  • Pathology and Lab Medicine
  • Program in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
  • Radiation Oncology
  • Radiology
  • Thurston Arthritis Research Center
  • Urology

Team 6

Karmen Bisher Research Administration Manager kbisher@email.unc.edu 919-962-6518
Julie R. Cook Sponsored Projects Specialist julie_cook@unc.edu 919-962-4693
Lonnie Hawley Sponsored Projects Specialist lhawley@email.unc.edu 919-962-4686
Deborah Sparrow Sponsored Projects Specialist dsparrow@email.unc.edu 919-843-7778
Chester Williams Sponsored Projects Specialist chester.williams@unc.edu 919-843-9238
Responsible for the following departments:

  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Carolina Institute for Developmental Disabilities
  • Center for Aging and Health
  • Center for Environmental Medicine Asthma and Lung Biology (CEMALB)
  • Center for Womens Health Research
  • Dermatology
  • Family Medicine
  • Gene Therapy Center
  • Institute for Global Health and Infectious Diseases
  • Microbiology and Immunology
  • Neurology
  • Neuroscience Center
  • Neurosurgery
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Orthopaedics
  • Otolaryngology (ENT)
  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
  • Surgery

Team 7

Stacy Barca Research Administration Manager sbarca@unc.edu 919-962-4679
Alicia Graham Sponsored Projects Specialist angraham@email.unc.edu 919-966-3413
Martika Jenkins Sponsored Projects Specialist mljenkin@email.unc.edu 919-843-6181
Andrea Taylor Sponsored Projects Specialist gaila@live.unc.edu 919-843-2609
Brie Teer Sponsored Projects Specialist bteer@email.unc.edu 919-962-4678
Responsible for the following departments:

  • Allied Health Sciences
  • Area Health Education Centers (AHEC)
  • Biomedical Research Imaging Center (BRIC)
  • Cell Biology and Physiology
  • Center for Gastrointestinal Biology and Disease
  • Center for Maternal and Infant Health
  • Cystic Fibrosis/Pulmonary Research and Treatment Center
  • Diabetes Center for Excellence
  • Heart and Vascular Care
  • Medical Education
  • Medical Foundation
  • Pediatrics
  • Pharmacology
  • Psychiatry
  • School of Medicine Office of Graduate Education
  • Social Medicine
  • TEACCH Autism Program
  • The North Carolina Translational and Clinical Sciences (TraCS) Institute
  • Toxicology Curriculum
  • UNC Center for Drug Safety Sciences
  • UNC Kidney Center
  • UNC McAllister Heart Institute

Outgoing Subaward Team

Sandra Barsalou Subaward Specialist sandee64@email.unc.edu 919-962-6632
LaToya Gibbs Subaward Coordinator lgibbs@email.unc.edu 919-445-2929
Christie Harris Subaward Specialist christie_harris@email.unc.edu 919-843-2610
Stephanie Harrison Subaward Specialist steff@email.unc.edu 919-962-4675
Earleen Sharrock Subaward Specialist Earleen_Sharrock@email.unc.edu 919-962-6438
Susan Soltis Subaward Specialist soltis@email.unc.edu 919-843-7271
Jeffrey Bissette Contractor jmbisset@live.unc.edu 919-962-6488