PDA MISSION

The mission of the Postdoctoral Association (PDA) is to represent the concerns and interests of postdoctoral scholars here at UNC. PDA leaders work closely with the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs to assess the status of postdoctoral life.  They also provide leadership and support for the PDA and peer initiatives.

PDA LEADERSHIP TEAM

PDA Chair: Lindsey Costantini, lmcostan@live.unc.edu

PDA Secretary/Social Chair: 

International Postdoc Co-Chair: Melisa Vance, melisa_vance@med.unc.edu
International Postdoc Co-Chair: Carolina Garrido Pavon, carolina_garrido@med.unc.edu

Minority Postdoc Alliance Co-Chairs: Olga Gonzalez-Lopez, gonzalod@email.unc.edu

Minority Postdoc Alliance Co-Chairs: Tessa-Jonne Ropp, tessa_jonne_ropp@med.unc.edu

Campus Health Advisory Board Representative: Nikolas Stasulli, stasulli@email.unc.edu

Carolina Women’s Center Representative: Danielle Fortune, dfortune@unc.edu

Chancellor’s Childcare Advisory Committee Representative: 

Maria Bednar, gmaria00@email.unc.edu
Title IX Committee Representative: Paola Giusti, Giusti@email.unc.edu

 

Looking for a way to make a difference?

The UNC Postdoctoral Association is a volunteer organization dedicated to addressing the needs and concerns of all UNC postdocs.  In the past, PDA members have worked closely with the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs to provide resources for professional development, generate awareness about problems common to all postdocs, and to foster a sense of community among postdoctoral scholars.  In addition to organizing events and seminars to enrich the scientific experience of postdocs, PDA is also interested in promoting programs to encourage social interaction within the community.

We invite you to become an active part of the PDA and welcome your ideas and suggestions to improve the quality of the postdoctoral experience.  Furthermore, your participation will assist you in building your own leadership skills, in meeting other postdocs outside of your home department, networking and negotiating with others, and in serving the community, a critical experience for you to list on your CV and share with employers during interviews.

If you are interested in getting involved, please contact the leaders listed above or opa@unc.edu.

This is a volunteer-run organization: If there is a program or service you want, come help make it happen!

To visit the Postdoctoral Association page, click here.