Carolina Innovations Seminar

Increase font size
Decrease font size

OCED Carolina Innovations Seminar – 12th Annual Celebration of Inventorship
Tuesday, May 3
The Great Room, Top of the Hill Restaurant & Brewery
5:30 – 6:30 p.m.

Followed by a networking reception in the same location 

twelfth annual celebration of inventorship

H. Shelton Earp III 2016 Inventor of the Year

H. Shelton Earp III
2016 Inventor of the Year

          Dr. H. Shelton Earp III is our 2016 Inventor of the Year. We honor him for his body of work to date and his dedication to innovation in service of the community of man as well as the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
          H. Shelton Earp III received his undergraduate degree from Johns Hopkins University and his MD from UNC-Chapel Hill School of Medicine. His interest in research began in medical school, and following training in internal medicine and service in the Army, he returned to UNC and resumed his investigations in the field of endocrinology, eventually focusing on tyrosine kinase signaling in neoplastic diseases, including breast, prostate, liver and lung cancer, as well as pediatric leukemia and melanoma. He has been continuously funded by the NIH throughout his research career.
          Dr. Earp’s role as physician scientist led him to cancer center administration, and he joined UNC Lineberger as a faculty member, then as Associate, Deputy, and Director, roles in which he was involved in bringing multiple components of the University to inter- and trans-disciplinary cancer research. In January 2014, he stepped down as Lineberger Director but continues in the role of Director of UNC Cancer Care. He also continues to serve as a senior advisor to the current Director of the UNC Lineberger Cancer Center.
          Among Dr. Earp’s many honors and awards are The University of North Carolina Distinguished Service Award (2015), Faculty Service Award UNC General Alumni Association (2009), UNC Faculty Thomas Jefferson Award (2008), Kaiser-Permanente Medical School Excellence in Teaching Award (1987), Medical School Basic Science Teacher Award (1985), Association of American Cancer Institutes: President (2005-2007), Board of Directors (2001-9); NCI Board of Scientific Advisors (2002-2007); IRG-A: NCI Cancer Centers Core Support Review Committee (1995-1999); American Cancer Society: Cell and Developmental Biology Study Section (1989-1993), Chair (1990-93).
          Dr. Earp will share with us his experiences as a researcher and innovator.


Register for this Event, free of charge, at: Registration for May Seminar


The seminar is usually held in Room 014 of Sitterson Hall, with the reception to follow in the Great Room at Top of the Hill Restaurant & Brewery at the corner of Franklin and Columbia streets, with the exception of the annual Celebration of Inventorship, which is held in the Great Room in its entirety.

Sitterson Hall is located across the street from the Carolina Inn on Columbia Street: Map

Public Parking Options

Traveling from Raleigh/Durham, via Franklin Street, make a right on North Columbia Street. Take the next right on Rosemary Street. There will be pay lots on both sides of the street. The charge for parking is $1.00-1.25 per hour.

Campus Parking Options

Parking on Campus is available, but it is sometimes difficult to find spaces. The charge for parking is $1.00-1.25 per hour.
The Swain Parking lot is located on Cameron Avenue and is the most convenient to Sitterson Hall as well as Top of the Hill, however, this lot is sometimes full or reserved. From Raleigh/Durham via Franklin Street, make a left onto South Columbia Street. At the second light, make a left onto Cameron Avenue. The first left is the entrance to Swain Parking Lot.

The Morehead Parking Lot is located on Franklin Street next to Morehead Planetarium.

Receive Event Email Alerts

Save the Date

DATE Confirmed Speaker(s)
September 3, 2015 Anthony James Hickey, Distinguished Fellow, RTI International
October 6, 2015, Tuesday  Michelle Holoubek and Judith Kim, Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox P.L.L.C.
November 5, 2015  Judith Cone, Bryant Moore, Don Rose, UNC-Chapel Hill
December 3, 2015  Frederick P. Brooks, Jr., Kenan Professor of Computer Science
January 7, 2016  Robert A. “Bob” Blouin, Dean of Eshelman School of Pharmacy
February 4, 2016  Don Rose, Director, KickStart Venture Services
March 3, 2016  Flavio Frohlich, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
April 7, 2016  Mike Dial, Principal, Hatteras Venture Partners
May 3, 2015 – Tuesday, Celebration of Inventorship  H. Shelton Earp III, 2016 Inventor of the Year
*Dates are subject to change 

Carolina Innovations Seminar Sponsors